TEEN
PROGRAMS

LEARNING TODAY. LEADING TOMORROW.

Teens

Alabama YMCA Youth in Government

Alabama’s oldest program for engaging youth in civic responsibility using our legislative and judicial branches of government as the model.

Contact:
Youth Center: (205) 324-1643
2400 7th Avenue North Birmingham, AL 35203
Terri Harvill tharvill@ymcabham.org

Camp Cosby Teen Retreat

Connect with Cosby Friends and enjoy time together at your home away from home.

Teen Retreat Details

This is a time for teens to take a break and refocus. The program will encourage teens to cultivate their leadership style and gain confidence. They will enjoy time together and also experience many exciting camp activities. All teens will learn employment skills and life skills.

Teens interested in Camp Cosby’s summer leadership programs will learn how to become a Leader in Training or Counselor in Training (CIT). Teens will have the opportunity to learn about summer employment at Camp Cosby and teen programming with the YMCA of Greater Birmingham.

 

Community Service Club

Whether you are looking for community service hours to boost your resume or to just give back to the community, the Greystone YMCA has you covered.  Join our Community Service Club happening on select Saturday during the school year.

Ages
7th-12 grade students

Dates, Time, Volunteer Location
May 7 | 12:30pm-4:30pm | Shelby County Humane Society

Cost
Free, open to all

How to participate?
Participants will register online for the session and should arrive at the YMCA the day of the event at the specified time.  Participants will be transported to the service site in a YMCA 14 passenger bus with an approved driver and chaperone while providing the community service activity.

Contact Kasey Liveoak for more information at kliveoak@ymcabham.org

 

Middle School Madness

A night just for Middle School Students to take over the Y! Select facilities will be open to middle school age kids to have fun, go swimming, dance, play games, and just hang out with friends. They will enjoy an open programming while still under the supervision of our trained staff. Pizza, drink, concession available.

Ages
6th-8th grade for 2022-23 school year

Locations offered
Alabaster
Greystone
Hoover
Pelham
Shades Valley
Trussville

Dates and Times
Varies by location.  Click “register” button below for more information.

Cost
YMCA Members |  FREE
Non-Members | $5.00

How to register?Registration opens 2 weeks prior to each event. Online registration is required for each event. Please click the “register” button below to register and view dates and times for each location.

Contact
Alabaster | Carolyn Abbott | cabbott@ymcabham.org
Greystone | Kasey Liveoak | kliveoak@ymcabham.org
Hoover | Joy Mann | jmann@ymcabham.org
Pelham | Youth Development Team | childcare@ymcabham.org
Shades Valley | Linda Davis | ldavis@ymcabham.org
Trussville | Fred Hatcher | fhatcher@ymcabham.org

Summer Camp Teen Volunteers

Teen Leadership programs are a hallmark of the YMCA. We believe this is the age to join your peers and experience opportunities to deepen your interests and understanding of the importance of becoming a leader.

Teens who have completed 8th grade, can apply to volunteer in one of our many day camps this summer.  Volunteering at day camp teaches teens how to work with children, learn important job skills and helps prepare them for the future.

Locations and Contact Information
Alabaster YMCA | Joy Mann | jmann@ymcabham.org
Greystone YMCA | Kasey Liveoak | kliveoak@ymcabham.org
Hoover YMCA | Ben Moffatt | bmoffatt@ymcabham.org
Pelham YMCA | Sydney Cole | scole@ymcabham.org
Shades Valley YMCA | Linda Davis | ldavis@ymcabham.org
Trussville YMCA | | Fred Hatcher| fhatcher@ymcabham.org

We are no longer accepting Summer Teen Volunteer Applications for 2022.  Please check back in February 2023 for next Summer’s information.

Y Achievers

A seasonal leadership and mentoring program for middle and high school- age teens held at the YMCA Youth Center and in Birmingham schools. The program focuses on college and career readines and exposure.

Contact:
Youth Center: (205) 324-1643
2400 7th Avenue North Birmingham, AL 35203
Terri Harvill: tharvill@ymcabham.org

LIKE WHAT YOU SEE? JOIN THE Y TODAY!
X