Featured
Fitness

Fitness & Healthy Living

Featured Fitness

In addition to a wide variety of cardio equipment, free weights, strength equipment and Group X Classes – all included in your membership – click below to discover more options available to assist you and your family on your wellness journey.

Group Exercise

YMCA of Greater Birmingham Group Exercise

Find community and conditioning in our Group X classes. Our comprehensive class offerings are led by certified instructors who are invested in you and your health and well being.

We feature a mix of nationally branded offerings including Les Mills, Silver Sneakers and Zumba as well as our own innovations and Nationally Certified Instructor created workouts delivered through Pilates, Y Ride, Y Cross, Y Strong, Yoga and many, many more.

With hundreds of classes per week across our 8 Citywide membership branches, you are sure to find a class just right for you. Our schedules cover early morning, mid morning, noon,  after work and weekends in a variety of formats including:

Active Older Adults
Barre
Cardio
Core Training
Dance
Indoor Cycling
Interval Training
Pilates
Strength
Water
Yoga

*Reservations are encouraged for our GX Classes and are
 available to reserve 36 hours in advance.

Use the Class Finder to find your class/time/location and Sign Up to reserve your spot!

We love feedback!  Please contact our Group X  Coordinators to share feedback and ask questions:

Alabaster – Melissa Barksdale mbarksdale@ymcabham.org
Downtown – Justin Hendricks jhendricks@ymcabham.org
Greystone – Renae McCullough rmccullough@ymcabham.org
Hoover – Robyn Boatman rboatman@ymcabham.org
Mountain Brook – Susanna Vance svance@ymcabham.org
Pelham – Mary Beth Hudson mbhudson@ymcabham.org
Shades Valley – Rachel Freeman rfreeman@ymcabham.org
Trussville – Margaret McCullough mmccullough@ymcabham.org

Personal Training

MORE THAN MUSCLE
IT’S PERSONAL

Personal Trainers look at where you are in your fitness journey and create a plan that considers your age, experience and lifestyle. Whether you are new to exercise or wanting to take your fitness to the next level, our YMCA Personal Training Program will meet you where you are and help you achieve results.

Already know your trainer and ready to go? Register Now below.

Questions? Contact us:

Associate Executive Director, Personal Training:
Mickal Thomas mthomas@ymcabham.org

Complete the Personal Training Interest Form and we will reach back to help match you with a trainer and create a training plan that fits your needs.

 

Pilates Reformer

PILATES REFORMER TRAINING  – BEYOND THE MAT! 
Reformer training is for everyone and appropriate for all fitness levels. The Reformer offers all of the benefits of Pilates with the added advantage of a full-body workout.While Mat Pilates has an intense focus on the core, Reformer Training addresses the core and more by involving the entire body to also achieve increased joint mobility and improvements in strength, stability and posture.Graceful ease of movement is achieved by utilizing the PILATES REFORMER – a machine that uses a series of springs and pulleys to take you through a full-body workout. Other pieces of equipment used include the chair, tower and jumpboard.Our Certified Instructors are available for Personal, Buddy or Group Sessions.
Pricing:
First Session Free!
Single Group session  – $25
Single Buddy Session – $30 per participant
Single Private Session – $70
10 Session Group Package – $225
For for information contact:
Greystone – Renae McCullough

Youth Fitness Orientations

Youth ages 9-13 receive 2 free 1-hour sessions to learn the basics of safety in cardio and full body strength training. Upon completion, participants will receive a wristband that allows them to exercise on the cardiovascular equipment, as well as select weight machines, when accompanied by an adult. Contact your branch Wellness/Member Engagement Director or Register below to get started.

Alabaster – Nicole Stephens nstephens@ymcabham.org
Greystone – Kara Davis kdavis@ymcabham.org
Hoover – Paul Anderton panderton@ymcabham.org
Mountain Brook – Susann Vance lgravlee@ymcabham.org
Pelham – Mary Beth Hudson mbhudson@ymcabham.org
Shades Valley – Rachel Freeman rfreeman@ymcabham.org
Trussville – Skylar Handley shandley@ymcabham.org

LIKE WHAT YOU SEE? JOIN THE Y TODAY!
X